PO Box 24560
Indianapolis, IN


Who We Are

Who We Are 

The Institute for the Study of Christian Origins was established in Tübingen, Germany in the early 1960s. Its purpose is to encourage and promote research in the early church and to apply that research to the church today. The Institute is sponsored by the European Evangelistic Society (EES) and works in cooperation with the Protestant Faculty of the Eberhard Karls University in Tübingen.
The Institute is registered in Germany as a non-profit organization/association; as such, it is able to accept tax-deductible donations.

The Institute Board

Dr. Beth Langstaff (Chair) -- Dr. Tony Twist, Indianapolis (Deputy Chair) -- Birgit Hallmann (Treasurer & Secretary) -- Katharina Penner -- Peter Penner --Richard Justice -- David Wright

Satzung Verein

The EES Board

Tony Twist (President) -- Dennis Lindsay (Vice President) -- Bruce Shields (Board Chair) -- Don Thompson (Treasurer) -- Megan Herring (Secretary) —Richard Justice — Pat Bonner -- Meego Remmel -- Loren Stuckenbruck -- Ottie Mearl Stuckenbruck -- Christian Witzmann

The Institute is sponsored by the European Evangelistic Society (EES). EES is a ministry of a group of churches known historically as the Stone-Campbell Movement (or Restoration Movement) which originated in the USA in the early 19th century.  These churches today are called the Christian Churches (Disciples of Christ), Christian Churches and Churches of Christ.

* For further information: